InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
InvisionFree gives you all the tools to create a successful discussion community.

Learn More · Sign-up Now
Welcome to Da Warpath. We hope you enjoy your visit.


You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.


Join our community!


If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:

Newz: Da Warpath's 9th Conversion Competition: Chariot Edition Edition - ENTER HERE!

Pages: (2) [1] 2  ( Go to first unread post )

 Mangler Cover Save
Artiee
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 02:59 AM


Orc
*

Group: Members
Posts: 680
Member No.: 5,934
Joined: 9-September 10



I want to make sure I played this correctly.

The Manglers has rule where its counted as being in soft cover. So that means that if a Mangler was in a Forest. It would still be -1 to shooting because of soft cover. correct?
Top
mickkk666
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 08:09 AM


Flying goblin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,055
Member No.: 6,568
Joined: 5-October 11



If I'm not mistaken, both soft covers don't stack together, so there's only one -1 wink.gif.
Top
theorox
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 09:50 AM


Decidedly Average
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 5,148
Member No.: 5,753
Joined: 21-April 10



I think they stack, and anyway they really should. Skirmishers in forest stack for example, so I'd definitely say yes. smile.gif

Theo
Top
Squigkikka
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 10:25 AM


Waaagh!
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3,413
Member No.: 5,573
Joined: 4-December 09



Mick is correct, soft covers do not stack, because adding soft cover to soft cover still only means you've got soft cover.

Theorox you got the rules upside down a bit! Skirmishers don't have soft cover, but part of the skirmishing rules say that they are -1 to hit due to their spread formation. THIS stacks with soft cover, so skirmisher -1 and soft cover -1 turns to -2.
Top
mickkk666
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 10:32 AM


Flying goblin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,055
Member No.: 6,568
Joined: 5-October 11



Thatís it. The BRB doesnít say that skirmishers have soft cover. Its formation gives them more protection against shooting.
Top
Wechselbalg
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 10:42 AM


Orc
*

Group: Members
Posts: 435
Member No.: 6,442
Joined: 26-July 11



The skirmisher rule - as mick stated - says they get an additional -1 to any shooting modifications. So no add. -1 for manglers.
Top
theorox
Posted: Mar 20 2012, 11:09 AM


Decidedly Average
Group Icon

Group: Moderators
Posts: 5,148
Member No.: 5,753
Joined: 21-April 10



Ah, damn. smile.gif Manglers hsould have a plain -1 then, but alas they don't...

Theo

This post has been edited by theorox on Mar 20 2012, 11:09 AM
Top
enTHRALLed
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 11:23 AM


Goblin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 60
Member No.: 6,053
Joined: 8-January 11



I take it that people are talking about manglers behind soft cover and not IN soft cover as I presumed that Manglers went the way of Fanatics if they hit any terrain.
So I question: can Mangler squigs enter forests before they go doolally (I mean hit an opponents unit) and after do they just die if they hit it?
Top
Paiant Slapah
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 01:17 PM


Big Boss
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,332
Member No.: 4,721
Joined: 8-September 08



Manglers aren't like Fanatics in that respect, they take a dangerous terrain test. Check out the manglers' Watch Out! rule, it deals with terrain.
Top
Squigkikka
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 02:01 PM


Waaagh!
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3,413
Member No.: 5,573
Joined: 4-December 09



they can, only fanatics die when they hit terrain! smile.gif
Top
16-Bit
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 04:53 PM


Snotling
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Member No.: 6,814
Joined: 24-March 12



If you casted the boosted night shroud, manglers would still only be -1 to hit then?
Top
Squigkikka
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 05:04 PM


Waaagh!
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3,413
Member No.: 5,573
Joined: 4-December 09



Yeah, because Night Shrouds do not stack smile.gif
Top
Arfa
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 06:04 PM


Da Warpath's resident mad scientist of conversions
Group Icon

Group: Veterans
Posts: 4,471
Member No.: 2,092
Joined: 17-March 05



QUOTE (16-Bit @ Mar 25 2012, 03:53 AM)
If you casted the boosted night shroud, manglers would still only be -1 to hit then?

If you casted the boosted night shroud you're wasting dice lol, not a very good spell at all.

Arfa da Grate
Top
Squigkikka
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 07:24 PM


Waaagh!
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3,413
Member No.: 5,573
Joined: 4-December 09



It can be good if you face a lot of DE or WE shooting, otherwise it's meh.
Top
mickkk666
Posted: Mar 24 2012, 07:38 PM


Flying goblin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,055
Member No.: 6,568
Joined: 5-October 11



Agree. Against shooty armies can help, but in any other cases it doesn't worth much.
Top
« Next Oldest | Rulez Questionz | Next Newest »
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Create a free forum in seconds.
Learn More · Register Now

Topic OptionsPages: (2) [1] 2 



Hosted for free by InvisionFree* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.0988 seconds | Archive