Fully Featured & Customizable Free Forums
InvisionFree - Free Forum Hosting
Welcome to Da Warpath. We hope you enjoy your visit.


You're currently viewing our forum as a guest. This means you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use. If you join our community, you'll be able to access member-only sections, and use many member-only features such as customizing your profile, sending personal messages, and voting in polls. Registration is simple, fast, and completely free.


Join our community!


If you're already a member please log in to your account to access all of our features:

Name:   Password:

Newz: Da Warpath's 9th Conversion Competition: Chariot Edition Edition - ENTER HERE!

 

 Waagh! And Overrun, missed opportunity?
Gorks_wundapantz
Posted: Nov 21 2011, 12:58 AM


Da rekroota fer der big boss
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,192
Member No.: 5,660
Joined: 31-January 10



in a recent match versus VC, i charged my generals unit through a screen of hastily raised zombies and then overran 11 inches into his generals unit.

i wanted to declare Waagh! but because i ddint against the 5 zombies was ruled that i couldnt then do it against the vampire and bunker.

in the end it didnt matter, both generals died and the battle ended, but how would youhave ruled that? did i miss my opportunity to call the waaagh vs the zombies, or was i dudded at teh next combat?
Top
Arfa
Posted: Nov 21 2011, 07:41 AM


Da Warpath's resident mad scientist of conversions
Group Icon

Group: Veterans
Posts: 4,471
Member No.: 2,092
Joined: 17-March 05



QUOTE (Gorks_wundapantz @ Nov 21 2011, 11:58 AM)
in a recent match versus VC, i charged my generals unit through a screen of hastily raised zombies and then overran 11 inches into his generals unit.

i wanted to declare Waagh! but because i ddint against the 5 zombies was ruled that i couldnt then do it against the vampire and bunker.

in the end it didnt matter, both generals died and the battle ended, but how would youhave ruled that? did i miss my opportunity to call the waaagh vs the zombies, or was i dudded at teh next combat?

WAAAGH! has to be called the moment you declare a charge with your general, before any reactions on anything else. Basically you say "My warboss' unit is declaring the WAAAGH! and charging your unit of five zombies, declare your hold reaction mr undead!". Then for the rest of the turn any unit of 5 or more orcs in close combat adds +1 combat res (D3 for the general), and if they happen to overrun into another unit they still get the bonus (although you dont roll again for the D3, your first roll stays). Also worth noting that you have to actually charge with the general in order to call the WAAAGH!, if you get charged yourself or are in a subsequent round then you cant call it.

Arfa da Grate
Top
amysrevenge
Posted: Nov 22 2011, 06:43 PM


Fancyman of Cornwood
*

Group: Members
Posts: 991
Member No.: 5,554
Joined: 11-November 09



Double check the wording on Overrun. I believe there is something in there to the effect of "treat this as a normal charge" or similar language. Might be a clue one way or the other.
Top
Arfa
Posted: Nov 22 2011, 07:44 PM


Da Warpath's resident mad scientist of conversions
Group Icon

Group: Veterans
Posts: 4,471
Member No.: 2,092
Joined: 17-March 05



QUOTE (amysrevenge @ Nov 23 2011, 05:43 AM)
Double check the wording on Overrun. I believe there is something in there to the effect of "treat this as a normal charge" or similar language. Might be a clue one way or the other.

Even if its treated as a normal charge, the WAAGH has to be called when you declare a charge, before charge reactions etc, right at the start of the turn. I'd say declaring overrunning isnt the same as declaring a charge because the opponent cant react.

Arfa da Grate
Top
Forever Lona
Posted: Nov 23 2011, 06:48 AM


Goblin
*

Group: Members
Posts: 113
Member No.: 6,001
Joined: 12-November 10



+1

I think Arfa has it.
Top
Gorks_wundapantz
Posted: Nov 24 2011, 01:42 AM


Da rekroota fer der big boss
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,192
Member No.: 5,660
Joined: 31-January 10



Thanks guys, thats entirely how it played out too, but wasnt sure if the "treated as a new charge" allowed me to slide in the waagh! rather than possibly wasting it on five zombies and failing the long overrun.
Top
Chilledenuff
Posted: Nov 24 2011, 01:26 PM


Da Sneaky Wun
*

Group: Members
Posts: 146
Member No.: 6,335
Joined: 15-May 11



So what happens if you over run into a combat that hasn't taken place yet this turn? You still count as charging, but it is a second combat. As I understand it you are still charging on that turn, so I'd expect that to still be a viable Waaagh.
Top
Gorks_wundapantz
Posted: Nov 24 2011, 11:43 PM


Da rekroota fer der big boss
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1,192
Member No.: 5,660
Joined: 31-January 10



thats what the question was chilledenuff.

i think you only get the one opportunity, ie:

orc turn:

declare charge, call waagh
destroy zombie unit
overrun into vampire unit

vampire turn
combat (counts as +1 for charging and the same result of the waagh d3)

the question now is if you destroy the vampoire unit and overrun into a third, are you still Waaaghing?
Top
Arfa
Posted: Nov 27 2011, 07:40 AM


Da Warpath's resident mad scientist of conversions
Group Icon

Group: Veterans
Posts: 4,471
Member No.: 2,092
Joined: 17-March 05



QUOTE (Chilledenuff @ Nov 25 2011, 12:26 AM)
So what happens if you over run into a combat that hasn't taken place yet this turn? You still count as charging, but it is a second combat. As I understand it you are still charging on that turn, so I'd expect that to still be a viable Waaagh.

If you'd already declared the WAAAGH! you'd still keep the original bonus, but the WAAAGH! has to be called in the 'Declare Charges' phase, which is completely different to the 'Move Charging Units' and 'Overrun' phases. Just remember it has to be done at the start of the turn!

Arfa da Grate
Top
BorkBork
Posted: Nov 27 2011, 07:43 AM


also known as Bonapork
*

Group: Members
Posts: 4,323
Member No.: 1,951
Joined: 7-January 05



fluff wise i can see it happen that a orc warlord breaks a unit, spots an other one behind and in excitement calls the whaagh in order to keep momentum.

Rule wise however i am with Arfa. You need to call it at the beginning of your turn when you declare charges.
Top
« Next Oldest | Rulez Questionz | Next Newest »
DealsFor.me - The best sales, coupons, and discounts for you

Topic Options



Hosted for free by InvisionFree* (Terms of Use: Updated 2/10/2010) | Powered by Invision Power Board v1.3 Final © 2003 IPS, Inc.
Page creation time: 0.0784 seconds | Archive