Title: O&g Wizards!
Warbringa - June 5, 2012 01:51 AM (GMT)
If I take two Orc Sham or two Goblin sham ( etc) or more, do each have to roll to see what spells they know?
Or do I roll "x" amount of dice for whichever Wizard has the highest Wizard Level and then all the Orc Shams share those spells, and same for gob shams?
So if I have two Orc Shams both lvl 2, and I roll 2D and come up with spells 2 and 3, both can cast either 2 or 3?
So if the above is true, then if one sham casts both 2 and 3, can the 2nd Sham cast those same spells again, or no since they were already cast by another Wizard that turn?
If a Wizard fails to cast spell 2, can Wizard #2 try and cast that spell?
Snikpik - June 5, 2012 06:10 AM (GMT)
Shamans and wizards roll for their own spells and hence only know their own spells so can only cast their own spells in the game. Shamans can know the same spell but can not share a spell if you only rolled once for it, they each have their own. The same spell can be cast twice but only by two different shamans, 1 shaman can not cast his same spell twice.
mickkk666 - June 5, 2012 07:40 AM (GMT)
Two shamans (for example goblins) canít have the same spells. Careful with that. If you roll the same spell, you must change it for a different one. There are two exceptions to this rule: 1) The signature spell of each lore is the only spell that can be repeated. 2) If you have a loremaster in your army, then you can repeat spells. For example: you have a goblin great shaman on an arachnarok with a spider shrine (makes him loremaster) and a night goblin shaman, if that night goblin shaman rolls a 6 (bad moon) he can keep it.
Warbringa - June 6, 2012 02:31 AM (GMT)
Snik said the same spell can be cast twice, but only by two different shamans. Assuming if I have two Orc shams that they will know the same spell.
So I am rolling dice for each Orc Shaman I have to see what spells they know, and they might even know the same spells?
Mick says two shamans can not know the same spell ( with few exceptions).
So am I to assume that if I have two Orc Shamans that each rolls for spells at their Wizard level and if my 2nd Sham rolls the same spell as my other shaman, then I have to roll again to see what else I get since they can't know the same spells?
What happens when you have 3 or more Shamans? If you can't know the same spells then is it assumed that your 3rd or 4th Shaman knows no spells since the first 2-3 learned them all already?
Arfa - June 6, 2012 05:48 AM (GMT)
You roll each shaman separately. Say you have two lvl2 orc shamen and one Lvl4 orc (for some reason), this is how it would go:
1. Pick one of the shamen (any one, dont have to start with the highest) and roll his spells. Say you pick the lvl2. If you roll a double, you have that spell and then you may choose any of the other spells. Once you have decided which spell you want, you can then swap either spell for the signature.
2. Pick the next shaman, say the Lvl4 this time. Roll four dice, and if any of the dice are the same or the same as the previous shaman's spells you then choose the replacement; you cannot have more than one of the same spell in your army unless you have Loremaster (which is only for arachnarok' shaman). Once you've done this, you can choose to swap one for the signature, even though the other shaman already has it. As many wizards as you like can have the signature spell.
3. Finally you can roll for your last shaman, however unless you've picked the signature spell with one or both of the above options you'll notice that no matter what you roll someone else will have that spell already, which means you cannot. But if one or more have the signature there should be one or two spells left that your other wizards dont have yet. So dont bother rolling, you get those two spells that are left (or one if only one wizard has the signature) and then may swap one of them for the signature. If you only have one spell you can roll up (say, if the lvl4 didnt swap one out) then the other spell has to be the signature, and if you're silly enough not to swap any of the other shamen's spells out then you only get one spell, the signature!
As you can see its best to have a maximum of 6 levels of magic in your army from the one lore. You can have more (a lvl4 savage orc, a lvl2 orc & two lvl1 goblins for example) but in general you will run out of power dice anyway to make it effective. Some builds can get around this (arock shamans giving channelling on a 4+ to all around them for example), and night goblin shamen help as they get 'free' mushroom dice, but as a rule generally 6 levels of magic is enough.
Hope that's helped!
Arfa da Grate
WarbossKurgan - June 6, 2012 05:54 AM (GMT)
What Arfa said... plus read page 490 of the big rulebook (or 162 in the little rulebook).