I was reading a battle report and he removed his manglers when they rolled a triple for movement but they had not yet contacted anything. While this was different than my interpretation of the rules I wanted to ask the community what the general consensus was, my interpretation below. Any emphasis my own.
"Mangler Squigs are removed as a casualty when:
They have gone crazy and rolled a triple for movement"
I would agree the squigs are removed as a casualty when they rolled a triple for any movement except for the fact they have a special rule called gone crazy which only starts affecting them once they contact another unit and do the first round of hits.
I view this similar to how fanatics can roll doubles on the turn they are released and not explode. I see this fluffwise as the goblins with the manglers have a rough control over the squigs until they have hit something, after which they get the random direction rule. I see the triples as the two squigs going in different directions and pulling each other apart.
Comments, questions, concerns?
inquiring minds would like to know
I think it's quite clear from the rules that your interpretation of the rules is correct!
Mangler squigs are only removed on a triple movement, if they've gone crazy, and that isn't until they've been into contact with an enemy unit.
I agree. I think that it was just a simple mistake by the Orc and Goblins player.
It was my battle report and before this forum told me it was for all triples, which is why I do it for all triples.
That was the first time it has happened in months outside of universal battle where it's happened once or twice, but their dice system is skewed.
I'll just show my opponents the rule now for a while to get them to see it in writing and not just think I am trying to change things. And to make sure they agree.