Title: Double Difficult Terrain?
Gradolt - December 15, 2011 06:25 PM (GMT)
I'm trying a new build with a lvl 4 NG Shaman and a Night Goblin BSB. I could take the Bad Moon Banner with the BSB, giving me stubborn, light cover and difficult terrain when charged at.
If I get the Night Shroud spell, do I get any double effect? I suppose that Light cover + Light cover doesn't count like Hard cover. I've seen some difficult terrain test at 5+ (Ie: Chariots in marshes). Do Difficult Terrain test adds together?
Noisy Assassin - December 15, 2011 07:32 PM (GMT)
Nope. They just count it as dangerous terrain, but there isn't any rule that says that such effects stack (similarly, if you cast Night Shroud while standing in light cover and some cavalry charges you, your spell doesn't do anything, because they already count it as dangerous terrain)
Squigkikka - December 15, 2011 07:41 PM (GMT)
I would say the opposite. The effect comes from 2 different sources, so I'd definitely say that you'd have to take 2 difficult terrain tests. The same goes for standing in a wood with the shroud- first the cavalry enters the wood, takes the DT, and then when they reach close combat all in base contact will have another.
Noisy Assassin - December 15, 2011 09:39 PM (GMT)
Wait a tic, I may have lied to you. I don't have the book handy, but it depends on the wording. I'm used to dealing with Curse of Anreheir, which says something like "counts as dangerous terrain", which doesn't stack with itself or with normal terrain.
But it may just be the case that the wording for Night Shroud and the Bad Moon Banner is "must take a dangerous terrain test". If it is, then I lie and Squigkikka was right. There wouldn't be any reason for them NOT to stack and force multiple tests.
Wechselbalg - December 15, 2011 09:57 PM (GMT)
That is an awesome idea and yes the wording in both cases is "Have to test for difficult terrain when reaching base contact". Well, that can wreck someones day especially in closed list games. :ph43r:
Squigkikka - December 16, 2011 01:38 AM (GMT)
Well not really as seeing how it's only in basecontact you take the test, and about 2 will die statistically :P
Wechselbalg - December 16, 2011 01:58 AM (GMT)
Yeh, statistics :D Thing is statistics are usually x out of 100 so it doesn't matter much.
Itīs no game winner for sure but it can be very mean if it comes down to more than the average losses.
Squigkikka - December 16, 2011 10:50 AM (GMT)
Yes, maybe even 3 dies :P
Gradolt - December 16, 2011 01:18 PM (GMT)
Hehe thanks guys! I'm coutning on the psychology effect too; saying to the opponent "If you charge this unit, you'll have to stop a 8'' to see if I have Fanatics, and if you reach my unit, you'll have to pass 2 difficult terrain test...
Could scare some people :)